at home with ann

Archive for October 28th, 2009

A  few rants on silly things and then a rant on something rather more serious.

Driving home from work yesterday I was dazzled.   No, not the glare of the low hanging autum sun (the clocks had gone back, it was now dark, more of which later)  but  the tree on the big roundabout near my home was adorned with sparkly Christmas lights.   For goodness sake, it’s still October!   There should be laws and I hasten to add I am not a partypooper:

  1. Christmas decorations do not get put up until December
  2. Christmas music/jingles do not get aired on radio or in stores until December
  3. Peace And Goodwill To All Men.   A  philosophy that should be practised every day of the year.  Like a dog, it’s not just for Christmas   (sorry, think this should have been No.1)
  4. … and any others I’ve forgotten and you’d care to add!

Secondly, it’s half-term week!   I’ve had to go out early every morning this week – my journey has taken half the time, or sometimes even less than that.   There should be laws:

  1. All schools adopt the school bus system
  2. If you live in walking distance of your child’s school, walk them there, please 
  3. … and any others I’ve not thought of and you’d care to add!

Thirdly, the clocks went back an hour- argh!    My body-clock didn’t go back quite as easily as the millions of clocks in the house.   At work my body-clock tells me it’s time to go home;  the office clock tells another story.    There should be laws: 

  1. No one should have to get up until they are wide awake (i.e. me)
  2. No one should have to get up until the room is filled with natural light (i.e. me)
  3. On a day with no sunlight *stay in bed/stay at home/eat hot buttered crumpets and squaff lotsa hot chocolate/watch mindless tv/read trashy mags/read a book/have a long hot soak (*delete as appropriate)
  4. No one should have to go to work in the dark (i.e. me)
  5. No one should have to come home in the dark (i.e. me)
  6. … and any other reasons not to go work that you’d care to add!

Here’s the last of the silly rants – John and Edward are still in.  Unbelievable!   They purportedly collected the highest number of votes!   There should be laws (or a change of rules):

  1. The judges (i.e.  Louis Walsh) should pass a test of compos mentis
  2. The acts should be solely judged on their singing talent, not comic value, otherwise we may as well vote for a pair of chimps.  Oh the voting British public did
  3. We should vote for the act we want to leave
  4. Someone on the x~factor should learn to count
  5. … and any others new rules you’d care to add – including one I’m tempted to do – switch off!

 

Auntie (for non-Brits the BBC) gave Nick Griffin free airtime, free publicity and freedom of bigotted racist speech.   The man came across as an utter imbecile, laughing idiotically throughout the whole show; good grief it was serious man!    Bonnie Greer wanted to slap him – read what she has to say here and also the views of his own mother-in-law.  

The voting British public not only vote for a pair of untalented chimps on a show that is the launchpad of a glittering career for people with genuine talent like Leone Lewis and Alexandra Burke,  but now a higher number of the voting British public are seriously considering voting for this bumbling fascist chump and his cronies.    They are dangerous.   In Europe Anti-Semitism did not lie dormant since the end of the Holocaust, it  lie close to the surface and is now fermenting and bubbling away about to erupt.   It is the same for all elements of racism today… the Jews are not the only ones who are hated and reviled and attacked and are not the only ones who should be alarmed. 

Today the world is a smaller place – we travel widely – we live in a multi-cultural society – information is at our fingertips at the press of a button – BNP policy smacks of Ayranism – if your face don’t fit.   I don’t want to think what these people may be capable of.   Let’s think about it;  the likes of Leone and Alexandra wouldn’t be given those same opportunities, assuming they were allowed to stay in this country along with anyone whose skin colour is not white, eye colour blue and not of whatever faith they deem fit is acceptable.     

On Thursday, Channel 4 @ 10.00pm watch a programme called The Event: How Racist Are You?   I am sure it will be an eye opener  to many people and a warning not to be taken lightly.   I have said it before, I will say it again – I am afraid, very afraid. 


the loves of my life

at the touch of love, everyone becomes a poet ~~~ plato

thank you…

... to everyone whose pictures and videos I have borrowed; if anyone would like theirs to be removed, please tell me and I shall be happy to do so

all words here are mine ~ I’ll tell you when they’re not!

from long ago

in case I forget what day of the week it is

October 2009
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031